Once around the fridge salad

It’s a flat cleaning day today. I’m knee deep in dusting cloths and mops as I do my best to freshen up my rather dusty, slightly grubby London abode, something which is woefully overdue. I am clearly a slattern. 

I was tempted to stop and get something quick in for lunch, like a pizza, but a forage around in the undergrowth of the fridge shamed me into making something fresh with what I had to hand instead. It’s saved me the cost of a takeaway, my trainer would be proud as it’s much healthier, and the whole thing took around thirty seconds to make. 

What was to hand were a couple of smoked mackerel fillets, half an avocado, some tomatoes, the end of a cucumber and a few sad looking pine nuts in the remains of an opened packet. Tossed together with a splash of white wine vinegar, sumac, and a drizzle of good olive oil, it was more than passable. 

There’s nothing wrong with a “once around the fridge and throw it all in a bowl” lunch now and then. 

Feeling sanctimonious ☺️

Leave a Reply

